The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

My Parents

My brother Steve is moving to Oregon. I’ll really miss him. Yesterday we all went to his house for a barbecue dinner. While there we loaded into my car eight boxes of papers that he has been storing from my dad’s collection of memorabilia. They started at the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory as part of the materials he gathered about the history of the lab. These were boxes of personal stuff that the university didn’t want. So we took them and Steve stored them. Now it’s my turn. This is Mom and Dad at the formal ball In Stockholm in 1951 when Dad won the Nobel Prize. It was taken by a Swedish journalist photographer according to the label on the back. I found it in one of two scrap books Dad’s mother made of stuff about him. Really interesting. One of these days I’ll go through the other six boxes. For now they are stacked in my laundry room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.