kwchas

By kwchas

Bridge 95

This is bridge 95, Henhull Bridge, which carries the A51 over the main branch of the Shropshire Union canal just outside Nantwich. I thought I would liven it up by featuring a vehicle driving over the bridge and got this speeding tractor but I don't think it works. As usual, to see the rest of the series, click on the shroppiebridgeseries tag.

I discovered there is no longer a bridge 94 although the canal narrows where the bridge used to be located. According to old maps online it was still there in 1910 and was called Bluestone Bridge but it had gone by the 1970s. There are no tracks or footpaths either side these days but I guess it would have given access from Bluestone Farm to the fields on the other side of the canal. 

Album of the Day - Breakfast - Teleman (2014)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.