TrishaR

By TrishaR

Pure Class

Frankfurt Day 7 - last day....

One of the ladies at the base told us there was a Food and Drink Festival at Wiesbaden, around 45 mins in the train from Frankfurt, so we decided we must go! Hopped on the U-Bahn to the Main Hauptbahnhof, (note that last Saturday on arrival wasn't sure what it was now it's tripping off my tongue like a native!) to pick up the direct train to there.

Our day out ALWAYS starts with a coffee and a pastry and we found a nice one in one of the squares and by chance there was a wedding party coming out of the register office just as we were walking across the square! I mingled in with the guests taking some pictures and then I noticed this beautifully decorated Beetle! Gillian had binned the shorts (I hadn't ) and was looking fabulous, in fact I told her that she was better dressed than the wedding party. (I'm not kidding). Some strange outfits along with a greyhound and a golden retriever that one of the little boys was emptying water from the fountain over its head!

I directed her to act like walking along the street but really standing still and this was the shot of the day!

Lovely lunch later in another square which had a line of small fountains low on the ground which was a magnet for the kids, some soaked through after running through them. Got some lovely kid shots:). Fritz joined us later after his golf in the morning and the three of us strolled along to the Festival.

Highlight of the afternoon for me there though was the mojito we had at the Brazilian tent. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Wander through all the different events going on then back home on the train .

As we got off the s-bahn the three of us walked through an underground passageway heading to the escalator. Just us, no one else was there at that moment as we strolled along. A busker further on ahead was playing the accordion. The tune he was playing beautifully was Que Sera, Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be). It seemed to echo in the low ceilinged passageway and it brought a lump to my throat, and as I wiped away a tear, I noticed G too was caught up in the emotion of that moment. All three of us had stuff happening in the next few days, and it was as if we were walking in slo motion towards new beginnings...... Music can do that all of a sudden, without any warning.

It seemed a fitting end to a holiday full of fun, laughter and crazy moments. We have been both busy and chilled in the same day. I never thought when I received the invite from G the week before I came, that I would enjoy this area of Germany so much. It's a lot to do with the person I spent this holiday with though. Gillian is one of the kindest, funniest and considerate people I have ever met and I have many special memories of our days spent in this pretty cool city and surrounding areas. So the title of my blip isn't about the car, its about you Ms G, you are one in a million and thank you, and Fritz for asking me over xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.