Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Cascades

The "Indian Summer" being experienced in the UK was too good to waste, but I was mindful that high temperatures and clear blue skies did not necessarily make the most comfortable of conditions. So checking on my various heritage and garden memberships I settled on Exbury Gardens and Steam Railway with the benefits of mainly shrubs and wooded (i.e. shady) terrain with views across the Beaulieu River estuary to the Solent and IOW; it was also free entry courtesy of my RHS subscription.

After the prerequisite coffee (and cake) I took a trip on the steam train before taking a leisurely walk through the shady rhododendron wood to the well-named Dragonfly Pond for a picnic lunch and dragon watching. I then headed for the riverside walks, spotting more dragons on the way (extra), before finally heading back to the car and home.

One of the last major garden features I passed was the Cascades linking a series of ponds dropping down to the river; just the job for today's Wide Wednesday Challenge of Water.

All in all, it was a great day and I managed to stay in the shade most of the day - it was still very hot!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.