The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lacock Abbey NT (Tuesday 5th September 2023)

I visited N. at the Melksham BMW Mini centre on Tuesday to discuss the state of progress with Buzz and related matters - he was very helpful.

Afterwards I bought another meal deal, this time from Asda, and took myself off to Lacock to eat it in the Abbey grounds. I again did not see 'The Abbess' (real name: Gracie) and as I first photographed her in 2014 I fear she may not be with us anymore. I may have caught a glimpse of the fictional cat Mrs Norris, though ;-).

I found a peaceful shady bench to eat my chicken piri piri salad lunch and continued around the exterior of the Abbey, venturing briefly into the cloisters, now chiefly known for its Harry Potter connections.

The abbey was founded by Ela, Countess of Salisbury for Augustinian canonesses in the early 13th century, but dissolved in 1539 and sold to Sir William Sharrington who converted it into a family home. The cloister court dates from the 15th century when the original cloister was demolished and replaced with what one sees today.

I've always noticed this ancient pear tree in the green square at the centre of the cloisters but to my surprise I have never specifically photographed it before, as it obviously deserves. Looks better in Large.

L.
Thursday 7.9.2023 (1711 hr)

Blip #3950 (#3700 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #003
Blips/Extras In 2023 #156/265 + #082/100 Extras
Day #4910 (1150 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3090 (#2930 + 160 in archived blips)

Lacock series
National Trust series
Trees series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro lens

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Doc Watson - Peartree (recorded 26 November 1974)

One year ago:
RSPB Arne (Egret)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.