SilverImages

By SilverImages

St Woolos Cathedral

Nothing in life is to be feared, it is only to be understood. Now is the time to understand more, so that we may fear less.”
Marie Curie
After catching up on computer took B to the Gwent for an appointment, K1 went in too while I headed off to find parking, always an important consideration when visiting the Gwent nowadays. Duration uncertain so I headed for St Woolos Cathedral for a mooch around. It’s always an interesting visit, the blend of old and new, with elements from the C12th like the Romanesque arch with its Roman columns at the entrance to the Nave with its massive columns drawing the eye to the round window and mural at the east end. Probably not to everyone’s taste but I think it is superb. My surprise for today was the ‘sculpture’ of Christ by Singaporean artist Mr. Tay Swee Siong suspended above the aisle. Not dominating like Epstein’s sculpture at Llandaff but this I found equally striking for its’ simplicity. As I was moving around to get my photo I then noticed the ‘small’ statuette of Gwynllyw (St Woolos) set into the column.
My meditation was cut short as I was summoned back to collect my passengers for a visit to Tredegar House, and lunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.