Marking Time

By Libra

Decision time

Today I made a major decision. I finally decided on my new laptop. 
(Champagne coloured since you ask).

“ This will see me out,” I say to the young woman in the store.
She is flustered. “ Don’t say that!” she is shocked to see an older person treat death so light heartedly.

Suddenly I realise I am repeating a phrase my father, who lived to be 98 years of age,  would use if I  suggested he should buy something new.:“ But I don’t need it. …This will see me out”.

My current laptop is 11 years old, going on 12, way past its sell by date. It has been behaving strangely recently, a sign computer folk say that it’s about to boot up for the last time.

Photo. Taken in Stirling university garden of tranquillity, that’s not its proper name but that’s how I think of it.
I wanted M to see this stone sculpture with a view to replicating it in a corner of our garden. He has agreed.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.