Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Rodmell

Rodmell is a small village in East Sussex between Lewes and Newhaven.  It is near where I grew up.

Whenever I saw the village sign, it would bring to mind the hymn tune with the same name (a traditional English melody).

The second verse of the hymn usually sung to that tune is:
I love to hear the robin sing,
Perched on the highest bough;
To see the rook with purple wing,
Follow the shining plough.

. . . (words by Edward J Brailsford)

I left Sussex when I was 18 to go to university (St Andrews) and I'm still in Fife 57 years on.
Now, it is not the village sign that triggers the memory but a robin singing up in a tree that takes me back all those years to autumn in the Sussex countryside.

You can hear the tune/hymn here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPWb9noXoow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.