Auguries

By McCaviti

Stairs of Velvet

Glorious day, beautiful and warm. Lunch with colleagues at Barangaroo - they’re old friends from working together for 20 years, so wonderful to see them again. They gave me a lovely farewell present of a beautiful photo frame (ooh, I said greedily, is it a book? but just as appropriate, and I had just treated myself to Greek Lessons which I have been lusting after all year).

Mike and his Mum mooched over from their buffet lunch at Darling Harbour, we found a nice shady waterfront watering spot before we caught a ferry to the Quay, in perfect timing for our People’s Tour of the Opera House.

Of course, I took lots of the traditional tourist shots, beautiful reflections, stunning sunsets, plus plenty of the wonderful inside of the building. Geometry at every angle. Lots of sculptural use of concrete, and its velvet intentions by the architect(s).

So take a trip up the velvet staircase into the inside of the Opera House…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.