CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Keeping an eye on me

I was amused by these fish I spotted in a gap in the weeds in the canal. I've been going there regularly to look for the elusive kingfisher that I saw last week. Even when there isn't a kingfisher I like just being beside water and the life that is attracted to it.

It was very hot again today and the fish seemed to be drawn towards the surface. I saw one that was more than a foot long but have no idea what species they are. It is thought that the angling community add large stocks of baby fish  into the canal at the beginning of the year for them to catch. The resident population of herons, kingfishers and otters regard this as a generous gift to them. The anglers get rather angry about these 'thefts'. But from what I saw today there was an abundance of underwater life, enough for all concerned I'd say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.