FotoAlex

By FotoAlex

Amid the trees

Ugh. What a day. A few hours into work, I got a notification that said I had a meeting in 15 minutes with someone I didn't know. I thought it was one of the meet-your-colleague meetings we'd done recently, but I didn't see this person's name in any of my emails. When the meeting came, the HR person was there.

I was laid off. It was immediate. Once the call ended, they told me they'd take control of my computer and end my access. It was so sudden, my supervisor called me to ask where I went. No one knew! Nooo! I just hit two years at this job, and I was really enjoying it.

I'm devastated. I honestly saw myself spending the rest of my career at this job. Now I have to update my resume and start the job hunt again. Awful.

In good news, a recruiter messaged me yesterday, so I told her today that I am available. I've got a phone interview on Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.