PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Renovating or moving?

Woke up to the sounds of cicadas and a flock of 5 or 6 very noisy blue-billed magpies. So pleasant! (Well I think it is anyway!). Once I was sufficiently awake I spent the majority of the morning before work running between my door and windows trying to take photos of them... but as you can see... this is indeed not a blue-billed magpie so my success rate was zero!

Once the magpies disappeared I heard a scurrying outside my window and noticed this guy was making trips up and down the same tree over and over again. Each time he came down he chewed off a large twig full of leaves and scurried back up into the canopy somewhere. Making a nest to sleep perhaps or just doing some renovations? Will have to read some more about these guys!

In other news.... the sunbird chicks had fledged the nest by the time I got to work this morning! Sadly I could only find one out of the three and then also had to shoo Phantom away from it. I think the other two most likely ended up as cats breakfast :( Here is the remaining chick - very cute minus his tail! I do hope he is still there tomorrow when I get up to work....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.