MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 8

Top of the ivy league today, the central image, is a tiny ichneumon parasitic wasp in the process of laying an egg in what I think is a holly blue caterpillar. I've read about this behaviour but this is the first time I've seen it. I think the wasp could be Listrodromus nycthemerus. The caterpillar looks very similar to an ivy bud.

I've added a slightly better image of the creature I was unable to identify yesterday. It's a pond olive, Cloeon dipterum. Thanks Bom. I've actually photographed one of these before in September 2020. Caterpillars were wriggling out of the moth eggs that I posted yesterday so I've included them. Also added are a pair of Nigma w. spiders cuddling, a small white butterfly, a tiny solitary bee, an unfortunate fly caught in a web, the big diadem spider on her web and a froghopper.

Remembering our dear Queen Elizabeth II very fondly on the anniversary of her death.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.