Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Flower Friday : : Bells of Ireland

These interesting flowers are in a farmers' market bouquet and have lasted a lot longer than most of the other flowers in it. My flower identification app insists that it is hydrangea and I couldn't find what it is really called until the common name in the title popped, more or less unbidden into my head. I googled it to see if I was right and discovered that it's botanical name is Molucella laevis, native to Turkey, Syria and the caucasus. If that is the case, why is it called Bells of Ireland...just because it is green?

I just wrote an entry that even bored me to death and then managed to delete it when I got distracted by an insurance question and went to their website. It really is not worth it to try and recreate it, so I will go and enjoy my evening glass of wine and look forward to the weekend. 

I'm getting behind on comments, but I will keep trying to catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.