misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Evening with new/old Peonies

The last light of evening found me outside capturing whatever I could to blip. Some of these peonies are blooming for the first time in five years. That is how long it takes for transplanted peonies to feel secure enough to begin blooming again. When I moved here I discovered them growing deeply under the sod in the lawn. One or two leaves were all that showed. Neglected for many years and sinking in our boggy mud.
I understand their blooming life is very long.. 25 years? Or is it 80 years? Perhaps they are one of what the Chinese call, 'the immortals'?
The purple Siberian iris have only just started blooming this week. The sun shines so brightly through the petals that they appear bi-coloured.
Altogether a satisfying scene for me to be weeding in before bedtime!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.