Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

This is not my day

The title says it all: this is not my day.
Why not? Well, here's the story:

First of all it's way too hot again. The past few days were all way over 30C and today will be no exception. On top of that I have an assignment today. I have to fly my drone to capture a few scenes for a movie.
I did that last year as well, and have been asked to do that again. Of course, I said. But now the day has come to do it, I don't feel like it at all. But, I have to. So I left home at 11:30 and arrived in Doezum (a small village on the Frisian border) at 12:30. Exactly on time, as agreed.
But, it seemed as if nobody knew why I was there. What??
I searched for Jan, my piano teacher (and today one of the camera crew). He was shooting scenes with the cast in a green house nearby. A green house in the sun, with temperatures inside going beyond measure. This wasn't the spot to wait for him, so I looked for some shade and ate my home brought lunch.

Around 13:30 I finally met up with him and he explained that things were reorganized. The first drone shots were expected around 16:00 at another location.
Why wasn't I informed??? I could have stayed home for hours.
Anyways, I kept wearing my happy face, but inside I was done already.
I only wanted one thing and that was going home.
The actors in the movie by the way, are all mentally disabled and therefore they need a lot of coaching. I have lots of respect for the people guiding them and caring for them, but today I just couldn't handle them. Get on with it. You don't want to play your part? Well, then just GO!!
But no, that was not the way the actors were treated. Another pause and talking to trick them into doing their part.
I searched for more shade and finally around 15:15 I was signalled we would move to the next location. Finally! After almost 3 hours of being bored and annoyed. 

Ok, the next location: A huge factory in Stroobos. Never been in Stroobos before.
We had a 7 km detour because the bridge we had to cross was blocked due to maintenance.
Around 16:00 we arrived at the scene.

I had to shoot a scene with the drone of an actor in a trailer, moving away from me. But first I had to follow this actor (on the photo) while he was running. My job was to fly backwards, with him running towards me while he was being chased by the "red knight" on a moped.

We practiced both scenes for a few times, and while doing so I noticed that my drone was acting weird. As if I didn't have control at some points. Oh no, not now!! I landed, restarted, re-calibrated and so on, but every time th symptoms returned. I didn't tell any one, I had a job to do and all the eyes were on Kwatta.  Pfff....

The running scene went well, a one taker!
Then The White Knight went on his trailer for the next shot. Starting with a close up, and then while the car was driving away, a higher and wider shot while following the car from a growing distance. Should not be too hard. The running scene was harder to capture.

And action!  And off we went. All went well, despite weird controlling after a few meters. Nobody noticed, but me.
And then, 
the moment I reached a height of I think 20 meters, the drone went awol, going directly towards the huge wall you can see on the left side of the photo. I steered to the right, but didn't get any response at all. A moment later it slammed into the wall and then went straight down of course towards the asphalt. Beng!! I saw the wings braking off. Oh no!!!!

I then knew why I've had that gut feeling all day.
All the attention was on me and my drone then; everybody worried if it still worked. Well, no, it didn't. Everybody felt sorry for me, and all I wanted was to go home. There was nothing for me to do here anymore.

Looking for a cause of this accident, somebody told me that inside the factory are lots of heavy magnets. Those magnets probably have disturbed my signal. Ahhh!!! It wasn't my fault at all, it turned out. It also explained why my controller had been acting weird all the time. The distance to the building was larger then.

After a while I said goodbye and left. Feeling like an idiot who can't even fly a drone.
Once home I examined the damage. With new wings it flew again in within minutes, no problem. But... the gimbal and camera weren't responding anymore. The camera is hanging tilted down and the gimbal isn't doing anything anymore. Dead!

Only one thing to do: send it in for repair, if that's still worth the costs. But I think it is, also because the moviemakers mentioned things about insurance and that sort of things.

What a day!

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.