WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

An exquisite little ride

We got out with Little Dog to Walltown Country Park first thing and Rich went off to repeat my ride of yesterday (in much hotter conditions but with much better visibility!)

My outing packed a punch for only 18 miles - three beautiful ups and downs including a dead end road.  I planned all the routes before we left but had a look at the OS map as I tend to get bored on flattish lanes and the only ones left were just that. I was keen for my last ride to be a good one, especially in the stunning weather, so I inspected the map and found a hill or two to keep me occupied. 

My blip is the view at the top of the first climb and the road then headed west from here and took a lovely route between two hills before dropping down and on to Castle Carrock.

When I first set off, I thought I wouldn't be doing the dead end road it was so hot but I acclimatised, sweat started to cool me off and I was having a whale of a time - so, onwards and upwards.  So glad I did!  

I headed up past RSPB Geltside and it was along here that an owl flew out of the woods just a few yards in front of my nose.  I was hopeful it might circuit back because it was only a thin line of trees on that side. Sure enough, a few pedals on, and there it was flying back across right in front of me.  My face felt a picture! 

I think it was a tawny owl from its colouring - a pale brown all over with a definite white edge to its tail feathers.

That was all the buzz I needed to get me home but it was on the next hill that a hare darted out and back into a field.  

My lucky day and the perfect last ride before dinner and the last episode of Doc Martin - the Christmas special - cooling off the hot day nicely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.