MidgeholeDave

By MidgeholeDave

Heptonstall Repair Cafe

A few weeks ago I was trimming some Ivy and bang! my hedge trimmer stopped.
It had encountered a six inch nail hidden by the Ivy and the nail won.
Resigned to dispose of it and buy a new one, I heard about the Heptonstall Repair Cafe.
Friendly volunteers advise and help with repairs to electrical, mechanical, computer, clothing & textiles, toys and bikes. (Tool & knife sharpening is also available).
I visited this morning and the trimmer was dis-assembled and checked out.  They got it running again but it made a terrible sound.  Further investigation revealed two cogs had sheared off a gear wheel. Regretfully the gear wheels are not available from the manufacturer so it will end up in the bin.  Rather a shame, but I was most impressed by the friendly help and expertise shown by the volunteers.
(Tea, coffee, cake and biscuits are also available - served by the local Guides)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.