JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Morning web

P returned from his early morning walk and summoned me outside: beside the path to the front door, an immense, perfect spider's web spanned the distance between the lower branches of the large laurel tree and the ground cover plants below. Viewed sideways, from the path, the low sunlight shining through the dewdrops formed a rainbow of colour. I couldn't capture this in a photo which also gave a view of the web, but some of the colour is visible here. It was a beautiful thing to stand still and look at. A little later, when J was dressed, I took her out so wonder at it too. 

It was a busy and interesting day - for me, a good yoga class which left me refreshed and energised despite the humid heat, after which I made the blackberry and elderberry cordial and stewed a big bowl of fruit. Meanwhile J's PA supported her with the online filmmaking group and a video chat with a friend on Facebook. Then in the evening we joined a very good and friendly online open mic event, followed by our Thursday movie night, for which I wanted to watch The English Patient, Anthony Minghella's 1996 epic story set in second world war Egypt and Italy, which offers the delight of Juliette Binoche and Kristin Scott Thomas both in the same film, along with Ralph Fiennes and many other well known names. I'd seen it once before, many years ago on television, and found it more than equal to my memories of it. It's available free on ITVx in the UK, though the frequent and repetitive advertising breaks somewhat mar the experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.