Still in use

Woke to rain, which then stopped. No reason, therefore, to stay home, as I wanted to pick up the Sunday newspaper, and a run was the most efficient and ecologically most sound way to do that.

I heard many tui as I started out, calling to each other from the trees by the side of the street. I could see them. The amount of light was still too little to allow any possibility of even identifying them in the camera screen let alone take a worthwhile photo.

On to the foreshore. Tide right in, so no waders having an early breakfast. They come as the tide goes out. Five mallards were swimming nearby and my attempt to take their picture was a fail. Indeed, two fails.

A bit further along, I passed a black and white pet rabbit on the grass, behind a fence, of "an absolutely waterfront property", as it is no doubt described in real estate speak. Yes; it has the advantage of being able to exit the gate in the fence and get into the water (only at high tide). The disadvantage is that all summer and most of the rest of the year as well, the world walks past and looks into your home.

The photo of the rabbit was okay, but a bit uninspired, I thought. Just as I turned to head back, I tried a photo of Whisper Cove, which was even less inspired., as were a couple of shots later on of the very dull morning light on the water of the Bay.

Consequently, I was delighted to pass this old IH (International Harvester) tractor on the side of a street near the dairy where I would buy the newspaper. It has clearly had a recent (enough) paint job, and in the traditional red of the tractor's youth. Seen more easily in large, the key is left in place with its yellow tag.

Current use would be to tow a boat down to the water, and then out far enough to launch it. As it has no registration plates, it cannot go far from home on the roads. Or perhaps it is waiting to be registered. Somehow I doubt it.

This is yet another photo of a tractor to go in the book of tractor photos I have wanted to compile, and must do so soon.

My apologies for lack of commenting. I spent all day both yesterday and again today reading the agenda papers for the two day meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.