Blush response

By Esper

International World Suicide Prevention Day

On This Day In History
1977: Serial killers Charlene Williams and Gerald Gallego meet

Quote Of The Day
"We had this sexual fantasy, see, so we just carried it out .... I mean, like, it was easy and fun and we really enjoyed it, so why shouldn't we do it?"
(Charlene Gallego)

Why shouldn't we enslave, rape, torture and kill people? It is hard to believe there are people in this world who honestly do not know why we should not do such things.

I joined five other people, two of them from my school, on a walk through Kobe to raise awareness of suicide  I'm sure that together we made the 21, 881 intended footsteps, each footstep representing one person who committed suicide in Japan last year. Over 700, 000 people worldwide commited suicide last year. In March, my brother added one more to this year's tally. One of these candles is for him.

Today's walk was organised by T.E.L.L., an Osaka-based N.P.O. that offers support for those harbouring suicidal. My school often promotes T.E.L.L. through the newsletter or organising school events to raise money for T.E.L.L. Myself and a few other staff from my school will climb Tokyo Tower on October 14th to raise money for T.E.L.L. I have also sent an email to F.Y.I., the children's news programme that I use for my after school news club informing them of the Tokyo Tower Climb and suggesting it as a possible news story to cover. F.Y.I. asks every week for such suggestions so, who knows, perhaps I can get T.E.L.L. some free advertising to raise awareness of the valuable work they do.

Petals (A powerful, no-holds-barred charity song raising money for C.A.L.M. - the Campaign Against Living Miserably.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.