smile like a rabbit

By smilelikeabunny

Signs & Wonders

Signs & Wonders

‘I’ve started looking for signs and wonders in the skies above and the sea and the earth. Thing is, now I’ve started looking, I can’t stop seeing them. You should try it. I know it’s easy to be closed to these ideas but open your heart and you will be amazed to what you will see. Let me tell you about the other day. It was really early and I was awake. I’d left the windows open with the heat of the night dying down, and those sea breezes were coming on in like waves into my subconscious. Even though it was still dark, I just had to get up. So there I was, stepping out into the edges of my garden, the sea over the brow to my west and the fields and woods to the east. It was still dark, but there in the morning sky you could tell it was all about to change. I chose the path to the woods as I was not ready to let go of the dark yet. Lottie was with me as ever. Where I go she shadows me and she gently filed in behind, happy for the cooler air and the opportunity to sniff what the night had left for her. We dropped into the woods and the magic began to happen almost instantly. A gentle deer greeted our arrival, neither she nor we were surprised to see one another. I nodded at the elegant animal then stepped on toward the forest brook. As we rounded the bend toward the water I heard a gentle tune playing. It caressed me as I dropped toward the brook and entered its shallow waters. There, in the middle, the water halfway up my shins, I looked on down and in the reflection of the skies I saw the stars and celestial angels dancing. I know you can’t believe me and I understand your doubts; but this is what I saw. I tarried awhile enjoying the sight and the music of the dawn, counting as I did so the angels in the night sky that moved so gracefully. There were twelve of course which was no surprise to me, after all it is the most sacred number. Why, you ask? Well, twelve months, twelve hours in each morning and each afternoon. There are twelve disciples, twelve Greek gods, twelve Imams and twelve sons of Odin. This list goes on. After awhile which could have been seconds or hours, I could not tell, I looked up. There was no show above me in the now lightening sky, and when I returned my gaze to the brook, all was now gone. The dream was over. I’ve come to realise that God in his mercy shows wonders all the time. You just have to slow down to see them.’

Twelve. It’s a magic number.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.