spannarama

By spannarama

In the garden

Had a relatively lazy start to the day, but then had a full-on afternoon in the garden (while poor Tim did yet another coat of paint in the spare room - which ended up patchy, AGAIN!)  Lee next door very kindly lent me his mower so that I could get our grass properly under control.  I gave the bits I hadn't strimmed yet another pass with the trimmer, then mowed the whole lot on a long setting, and then again on the shortest setting.  That doesn't sound like much work, but I couldn't even complete one row without having to empty the grass cuttings box and rake up all the excess from the lawn, to allow the mower to pass over it smoothly.  I have never seen so much grass in my life!  And it's a small garden!  There was a dense layer of something like sphagnum moss underneath, which I think was adding to the density.  Anyway, it's lovely and short now, and hopefully ready to receive my wildflower seeds when they arrive (hopefully very soon, before the grass starts growing again!)

Absolutely exhausted after all that, but a very satisfying kind of exhausted.  Had a restful evening and Tim cooked us a delicious curry again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.