Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Village show

A pretty lazy day after a couple of more energetic ones. We both got up late then sat with tea and toast in the sun on the deck whilst we chatted to Mt and the kids….another beautiful day! When it got too hot we went up to build drawer units for the new fitted wardrobes they’ve ordered. Should transform their dressing room, we did a few then A practised her nail expertise on me, and we whiled away a pleasant hour or so back on the deck chatting whilst she did my nails and we soaked up the sun. Made some tomato sandwiches for lunch with the delicious tomatoes I’d bought at the farmers’ market yesterday, then we walked over to the village horticultural show in the school hall. I totally love wee shows like this….the care and pride displayed in every dish of trimmed and polished onions, the championship sized cabbages and marrow, the huge bunches of mixed garden flowers and single roses, the jars of jam and Vitoria sandwich cakes….takes me straight back to being a child entering the show every year in Ayr and building miniature gardens on a tray or biscuit tin lid, constructing bowls of floating flowers and collecting as many different wild grasses as I could find. When the kids were little they’d enter Wavendon show with rock cakes and animals made of vegetables etc. last year T did well with his produce in their village show, so a bit of a shame that A had been too hesitant to enter this year, but her neighbour and I did a good job of chivvying her along for next year’s show as we looked around seeing all the prize winners.
Came home and I made some home grown plum jam whilst A whipped up some scones which we wolfed down before finishing building her drawers.
I’d planned to stay for supper but after the scones we weren’t very hungry so I came home and it started to rain as I drove, although it finished before I got back. Just watched the week’s weather forecast….much cooler ahead but still sunny most days so I’ll still plan on being outside a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.