Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

I think I knew I would not be having a lie in today! I went up to the loch and as I arrived at the water edge the adult male flew over from a tree and landed at the water's edge. I had taken less fish so gave him half of what I had then made my way to the clearing at the other end of the loch. There was nothing there unfortunately but as I was looking down the loch I saw the male take off and he flew nearly the full length of the loch and landed in front of me. It is incredible watching such a big normally reserved bird flying towards you from that distance. I gave him the rest of the fish then headed home.
The crows and gulls (adult and 2 juveniles) all got biscuits.
How weird - I have just noticed it was the same situation a year ago with the same bird. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.