antipodean

By antipodean

Family History

What a perfect Sunday - days like this make the crazy days worth it!

I had a massive sleep in today, and then didn't get out of bed for another hour and a half. I had a chat with Phoebe to catch up on the goss from the rest of last night, had a chat to Mum about bed frames and then finally got too hungry to keep lazing around in bed.

Around the corner from us is an old school which in the 1930s became a tech college. In a complete coincidence, my grandpa actually went to the school for a few years before he got his apprenticeship as a cabinet maker. The school is being converted into apartments and the display apartment is open at the moment; Dad went in to have a look and noticed they had photos of the old students up, so this afternoon my aunty came over and the three of us wandered around to have a look. It was really cool, and it looks like the new building is going to keep some of the old facade which is good because it's a lovely building!

I had an ice cream date with Julia this afternoon, and we had a good long chat with our yummy Ben & Jerry's. When I got home I made Dad a risotto for dinner because he's been lovely this week - he looked after me when I was sick in the middle of the night, he brought me lots of tea, he drove me to work twice (and picked me up!) and just generally looked after me. A risotto doesn't begin to make up for it but it's a start!

This plaque is set into the ground outside the school and it's dedicated to my Grandpa (and all the other students at the school). I've walked past it a million times and I always try and stop and read it. I love that a piece of my family history is just around the corner; we only moved to Abbotsford a few years ago but I feel very connected to this area because of the history here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.