My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

2 down, 2 to go

Caernarfon half marathon 
1:49:41

On a swelteringly hot and sticky day I could almost exactly pinpoint the moment that this morning's porridge ran out and gave way to yesterday's couple of mouthfuls of pasta.
At 8 miles my pace dropped off a cliff by over a minute a mile and it was just a drag to the end.

Despite the spectacular start/finish at the castle I can't really say I loved the course. The first 3 miles or so were along the North Wales Steam Railway before hitting undulating country lanes and then the coast road at around 8 miles. It's not a very interesting coast road and there wasn't even much in the way of a breeze -it didn't help that I was pretty much dragging myself along at that point. Then after seeing the castle it was more undulating country lanes before venturing back onto the railway line to retrace the start back up to and around the castle.

It was great to have Louisa and Owen cheer me on up the last hill to the finish and the huge ice cream -mango & passionfruit- at the end felt very well deserved and much appreciated. 
That's 2 of the 4 Castles series completed, hopefully Bangor next month won't be so hot and I'll be a little bit better prepared.


On a roundabout route home we even managed a quick stop off in Prestatyn for Owen to go to a park even if, on seeing the sea again, he declared "not more sea". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.