SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Shade seeking

I went to get some fish for supper for M&R’s return from their trip south this morning. I got to Thornham at 10.05 (it opened at 10) and joined the fish queue. They’d sold out by 10.15 so I left the queue empty handed and ended up cycling down to Burnham Market searching for the shadiest route I could think of and was successful. I then did very short bursts in the garden and retreated to read and cool down again and prep supper.

In the later afternoon I cycled to Norton and was going to walk across the marsh but it was too hot still … I went a short distance and was startled by a hare, about 20 feet ahead, that leapt and twisted out of the long grass and reeds. I thought I had surprised it and it had jumped and bolted off but as I got to where it had been I saw it was dead on the side of the path. It looked otherwise ‘healthy’ and in good condition. I wondered if it was heat stress/stroke or a heart attack of some kind. I have since come across this https://www.uea.ac.uk/news/-/article/uea-researchers-to-investigate-mysterious-hare-deaths#:~:text=Researchers%20at%20the%20University%20of,obviously%20sick%20and%20dead%20hares.

I cycled on to Overy and swam in the now low (after the extreme high) high tide in the creek, bought an ice cream and had a chat with Juliet (I have no idea how she survives in that van in the heat all day).

When I got back M&R we’re home and we had a good catch up. Supper worked well and we finished off with a local plum and hedge picked blackberries from the marsh path, and a rather nice Mary Berry inspired crunchy topping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.