Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Whimsical window

A welcome autumnal feel to my early morning walk with the spaniel, the ground was wet with dew and the forest redolent with the scent of over-ripe blackberries and rotting apples. I called in at the church of St Botolph in Swyncombe to look at the stained glass windows ( a previous blip featured the unique Turgis memorial window) and noticed a window I hadn't seen before. It is easily overlooked, a small window very high up at the western end of the church and partially covered by cobwebs. The design is most peculiar, cartoon-like birds in a variety of poses. I have never come across a window like this before. Alas I can't find any information about it. Even the seemingly exhaustive Robert Eberhard's 'Church Stained Glass Records' notes only the presence of a window with 'yellowish glass decorated with birds' but not the date, designer or firm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.