jennym999

By jennym999

Who are they?

This is one of the new doors of the refurbished National Portrait Gallery by Tracey Emin. I made a quick visit to the NPG today which was so busy. The tourists are certainly back in London, aided by the weak pound no doubt.

There are three big doors but as two were open you could not really see the bronze ‘drawings’ on those two. I had read about them in the newspaper when the gallery had reopened and had thought they might be of certain relevant women. I asked in the NPG if there was any information about this and the women depicted, they had no idea! Having looked it up myself I find that Tracey Emin says that they are just women’s faces( 45 on three doors) to balance the 18 male painters who look down from above from stone sculpted roundels! I was not overly impressed!

It was still very humid today although only about 26C.

I have not been up to central London for a while and looking around as if a tourist I thought many of the streets around Covent Garden and  particularly the underpasses by Waterloo Bridge and station very dirty with lots of graffiti. Quite depressing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.