Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Thumb of La Quille …

… on the edge of the Diablerets Glacier, a passage for the Bearded Vultures of the Derborence Valley below where two pairs have established their territories. I had given up hoping to see one and had gone inside the hut at the Col to warm up when suddenly I saw movement out of the corner of my eye. I was up and outside in seconds but the bird had gone. The guardian who had come out with me suddenly pointed, « There are two more! » majestic and huge with their 2.8m wingspan they were gone so quickly. I think the one I managed to take a few photos of, in extra, is a juvenile, very dark in colour and without the trademark beard. Apparently adult plumage is not complete till they are 5 years old. So fantastic to have seen this family of three vultures. And then it rained and I raced back across the glacier with a big grin! 

Thanks for your Preston concern, his wound isn’t any better today, he keeps scratching it and he licks his arm that he has wiped over the wound! I am beginning to wonder why the vet didn’t put a collar on him.

Finally we are in a big storm as I type.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.