nina54

By nina

I have been on a grand tour of Ulla-Lena Lundberg's on Kökar today. My friend Ingrid took me to Ulla-Lena's parents grave and to their former homes here.

Ulla Lena is an author and her latest book called "Ice" was published last autumn. She won a Finlandia prise for it. When I read the book I thought it all was fiction. Later I heard that everything was true that happened in the book.

Ulla-Lenas father was the priest of Kökar in the 1940's. He was a very outgoing person and loved by the people of Kökar. One winter when he cycled on the ice back home from a meeting he went through and drowned. It was all very tragic. The life on this remote island was very hard.

I had an interesting tour with the best possible guide.

This image is from the rocks below the church of Kökar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.