Made of memories

A morning of work, finishing up the Optical Illusions proof-read and re-focussing my wibbly-wobbly eyes. Then I was off to have fun with Sarah and Fiona. Sarah and I started with tea, chips, beans and two white toasts followed by strawberry cheesecake and more tea in the marvellous O'Girasol cafe. This set us up very nicely for the rest of the day. We met Fiona off the bus and headed to Finsbury Park to join the crowds in the not-as-hot-as-forecast-yesterday sun. We enjoyed the first band of the day, which we'd never heard of and felt a bit old and out of it when they said they'd had a number 1. Certainly loads of people knew the words. Rudimental were the perfect warm-up band with tons of energy.

We sat out the next band who sounded a little like The Killers: The Courteeners. The first couple of songs were OK, but then they all sounded the same. But we had great fun dancing to Dizzee Rascal. The sun was still up when the main band of the night, The Stone Roses, appeared. Cue the huge crowd of mostly 40-somethings, some with their kids (early 20s and teens), singing every word to every song for the next two hours. This was welcome as Ian Brown is not particularly brilliant at singing, especially when it comes to staying in tune. He was in a whole different key during "I Am The Resurrection", but did we care? Not a jot. I was amazed at how many of the songs I knew. Brilliant! It was more of a nostalgia trip for me as I can't say I'm a huge fan. It brings back a happy era so they are all fab songs to listen to.

Here's one review that has links to many of the songs: Finsbury Park 7 June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.