TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Glorious night for it...

Finally had a bit of rain and, wouldn'cha know it, it coincided with Ottawacker Jr's first "Fall Session" of goalkeeping practice, and my own meeting with club officials about stepping in as a coach again. Both were, obviously, outside.

The long and short of it is that this season has been a disaster for the programme. The level of coaching has been appalling - even by Canadian standards (the goalkeeping sessions are brilliant, but they are a different set of coaches) - and the entire season has been a write off. Players have been leaving, parents have been up in arms and, for once, the club looks a little bit sheepish.

So I volunteered to come in and help in whatever way I could. Given my hip situation, this may not be of much use to man nor beast, but at least I have a rudimentary knowledge of what shape a ball should be, so I am in the top percentile. We'll see.

The irony is that while I and three other brave souls were lambasting the GM about the sheer-shiteness of the season, the goalie coaches were putting on a master class of dedication and ability, throwing themselves about in glee in the middle of a deluge. "This is what a good session should be like," I said. And it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.