If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Buff-tailed Bumblebee ( Bombus terrestris )

I had a pressing job which had to be done before we depart for Solace on Friday.  A few days ago I strimmed the "wildflower meadow" at the Lodge.  The cuttings have to be removed otherwise they would rot and become plant food.  Wildflowers thrive best in impoverished soil.  However, you shouldn't collect it immediately, leaving it for a few days gives any seeds present a chance to be shed.

The job turned out to be completed more quickly than I anticipated.  I raked the banks leaving a neat roll of dried grass at the bottom, which clickychick bagged up ready for recycling.  While we were working this Bumble bee was visiting the remaining Dandelion.  Not a good photo but as I only took three photos today and this was the only useable one I am stuck with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.