AMK49

By AMK49

End of the Line

This afternoon I took my car to Ladybank to get the wheel alignment checked so had a little bit of time to kill and wandered along to the station. I have often passed through it on the train and I am aware that at one time it had a very busy railway yard no doubt with several extra sidings . I didn’t really expect to find this set of buffers alongside Platform 2 in what is now someone’s garden. The wood is starting to rot so it has obviously been there for some time and the clue to its age may be in the extra.

It shows a building called the Laird’s Waiting Room constructed according to a plaque as part of the station which opened on 17th September 1847 by the Edinburgh & Northern Railway which became part of the North British Railway in 1862.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.