Marking Time

By Libra

Outsourcing our memory

Yet again today I found myself caught in the cross fire between digital currency and cash.
My new dressmaker, an astute Polish woman, only accepts payment in cash. But I had no cash. In fact I couldn’t remember when I last used cash. Paying digital, in my case, by Apple Watch, is now my standard practise.
“You can get cash out of the machine down the road,” she said.
Fine, except I could not remember my bankcard number. Finally I rang M. He had cash.
That’s the trouble, it’s so easy to click and tap our way through our daily lives that we end up outsourcing our memory.


Photo- the French patisserie in Baker St, Stirling, opposite my dressmaker, is not French but run by Turkish businessmen and yes they prefer cash too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.