Arachne

By Arachne

Graphics

As forecast, the weather has turned and I was greeted this morning by the welcome, cooling fine rain that I walked home in yesterday evening. I got to St Martin's abbey that I missed yesterday and had it to myself. Small, quiet, Romanesque, lovely. I decided the Musee des Beaux Arts would have to wait for another trip and went instead to the Printing and Graphic Communication Museum. I was most taken by the printed books illustrating the development of typeface design in the 15th and 16th centuries and the advertising posters from the early 20th century. Both made me realise how the graphic design course I did 20 years ago had skimmed very lightly over the surface of what there is to know.

This evening I am a train journey south east with some friends in the Vercors mountains above Grenoble. They are glad that it's not as swelteringly hot as it has been but disappointed that I won't be seeing the mountains in sun. It doesn't bother me - I've been out in these mountains before in sun and in snow and am very happy with swirling cloud. This evening's rainbow was a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.