JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

The Elham Valley, September

I'm not sure what makes a landscape "classical": perhaps some crumbling pillars and arches reminiscent of a Poussin painting, or a distant stately home half-hidden by trees planted by Capability Brown. Nothing like that was available to me in the quick half hour I spent walking up the hill and down again, so my valley is all I can offer. It's not all mine of course, I only own a little patch of it (the bottom corner of which is marked by the tall elm tree at the right hand edge of the thumbnail), but it's a very lovely, if unspectacular valley and after ten years here I'm very attached to its rolling and patchworked landscape. I've shared many photos of it, but this may be the widest one yet. The unexpected September heatwave brought all the combine harvesters out last week, so everything has now been gathered in and the many fields of stubble look richly golden in the early evening light. As I walked down the steep meadow beside the lane, the white flashes of rabbit tails bounced into the hedge in front of me. 

Thanks to StevenG for hosting today's Wide Wednesday classical landscape challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.