Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Time For A Sit Down

My grey 'rattan' garden furniture in close-up.

Had the lovely Roxy and her mummy over for a little visit this afternoon; always a pleasure...I miss my dog walks though :(

I was expecting to start today's journal with "I had another secret mission..." but, it doesn't have to be secret anymore.

Some of you know I work with my parents in the family business. Given their ages, that work is coming to an end and we have started the process of winding up the company. (It isn't something myself or my brother want to continue).

I have been looking for ways to boost my income which obviously hasn't been easy with my broken ankle. I thought it unrealistic to be able to find a job given my age and lack of qualifications after 37 years give or take teaching myself accounts and administration with Mum & Dad with the help of the company accountants.

I saw an interesting looking opportunity on Indeed but it required me to upload a CV. I didn't have one. There's hardly anything to put on it! But, I filled out what I could and left it there on Friday.

On Tuesday morning I had an e-mail from a recruiter.
On Wednesday morning I had an interview with a Finance Director.
This morning I had an interview with joint Managing Directors.
Before lunch I got offered the job!

Surprised and chuffed to bits doesn't even cover it! I was sure I'd be eeking out my redundancy to get by for at least the next few months.

Phew! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.