Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Busy bee

Today has felt ... full. Again. Maybe the return of the sun had something to do with it, though there were a few downpours in the morning. It felt chilly when I went out at 8.20am to do the shopping - I wore a fleece jumper and a gilet, though it was as much for inside Morrison's as outside. I felt I wasn't shopping very efficiently - nearly came away without at least one vital item, which I had to sprint (well ...) for in the midst of checking out. Losing it, I fear.

We had several consultations with Ollie the builder during the morning as he worked on the path and steps - about the height of the first step outside the door, about the effect of rain, about the colour of gravel we wanted at the sides of the slabs. Happily he found a stash of the colour we wanted - we had feared he might not. There's a big blue tarpaulin over the lower set of steps tonight, down at the gate - he said he'd leave a polite warning. 

Somehow, despite all the travaux, the fish man made it to our door with out delivery (he liked the look of it all) and the postman and the carrier with a parcel. There was a lovely letter from an old friend who still likes to send letters on thick creamy paper; I'm afraid I'm going to answer by email as I don't have any of the new stamp and I never thought to buy any when I marched to the post office before lunch to return a parcel to Amazon. I've never actually done this before - the process of generating a label is done in the post office via a QR code - but it's quite simple, in a way that actually ascertaining how you set about it is not.

I felt justified in taking my time over lunch before diving into some basic garden stuff, which culminated in my taking the loppers to the buddleia in the lane which doesn't belong to anyone, I suppose, but sticks out just where we need to drive if we're to park straight in our drive in. I think if I were on my wall I might feel shamed into doing something about it, but the people opposite seem shameless...Anyway, it was scratching our car. All this activity didn't seem to produce any photos, so I took one of the purple daisy things in a pot outside the kitchen window as I'd noticed they were alive with what I assume are bees only not the fat hairy kind... Tell me they're bees, please!

And that was that. We had dinner at a sensible time but I did far too much sleeping in front of the telly, again. I should have gone aurora-hunting, but ...

I didn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.