Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Breakfast with Mr Blue

I went to Huntley Meadows Park just after sunrise this morning. The park was perfect as there were no people when I arrived, the gentlest of breezes, and the temperature was perfect (65 degrees with low humidity). I walked to the wetlands which is about a 1/2 mile walk through a beautiful forest. Squirrels were running around and birds were chirping away.

Just as I got to the wetlands, I spotted this Blue Heron (same location as my March 31st blip).

He and I stood for about 5 minutes looking at each other and once he realized I wasn't going to doing anything to him, he began searching for food. I setup my tripod and started snapping away. He and I spent about a 45 minutes together and sometimes got as close as 20 feet/6 meters. Click here to see a closer view of his catch...

After that, I found a beautiful green frog that was about two feet down from the elevated walkway. So I did what any blipper would do and got down on my belly and held the camera out over the water (strap still around my neck) and got some pretty cool pictures. A picture of the frog can be seen here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.