Flossmo

By Flossmo

Groton

Back blip for yesterday

It was a beautiful shiny morning with just the hint of a breeze. We drove over to the submarine base at Groton to visit the US Navy Submarine Museum (see extra). It was an interesting place with a lot of information about the move to nuclear powered submarines, which was started in the 1950s. I also hadn’t realised what an important role the US submarine fleet played in defeating Japan in the Second World War.

Part of the visit was an opportunity to board USS Nautilus, an early nuclear sub. I was a little uneasy, as I suffer from claustrophobia, but ventured down the stairs. I managed a few minutes before I started to have a panic attack. I quickly made my way back towards the entrance, climbed over the rope that separated the way in from the way out and hurried up the stairs. I had to sit outside in the sunshine until the dizzy feelings subsided. I should have known better than to ever go in in the first place. I did suggest that Mr Flossmo go back and complete the tour but he gallantly said he wanted to stay with me. 

Back in the car we drove to New London. We had a snack on the pier and then walked along the historic harbour. Even today there is plenty of sea traffic and one can imagine it as a busy port back in the day but there was a general air of decay about the place. 

Later we drove to Stonington, a pretty, sleepy, typical New England village with cute shops and harbour side cafes. We sat with some drinks and soaked up some sun. It’s going to be in short supply whilst hurricane Lee passes. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.