There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Gardens at Loretto / Blessing of the Animals

My husband had some things he wanted to do in Ebensburg, the town that he grew up in. And the weather was glorious - sunny, a bit cool, wonderful! So I rode along. We had a delicious lunch of steak salads at Off the Rak, and then he dropped me off to do the walking tour.

I started at one of the bigger cemeteries - Old Holy Name - and my friends the Moose and Tiny Tiger got to hang out with some local celebrities. You may see what I'm calling The Blessing of the Animals in the extras. :-) I also visited the Old Welsh Cemetery on West Sample Street, another personal favorite.

I shopped at the High Street Emporium and looked at antiques and all kinds of neat and crazy things. There is a new owner, as of July 1, and she is a veteran. We had a lovely chat and I spent $18 in her store. Two round tree necklaces, two heart crystals, and a small brass antlered deer later, I walked out, happy.

My husband picked me up at the Veterans Park, and we went from there to Loretto to visit the Sunken Gardens. We were only there for about a half-hour but we had the whole place to ourselves and it was grand. I lit candles for loved ones at the Fatima Shrine, and I took tons of photos in the amazing afternoon light, including the one above. On the walls, you can see the Stations of the Cross.

I've got two photos and two songs! For the image above, of the beautiful afternoon light at the Gardens at Loretto, here is Jeff Healey, with See the Light. For the extra, featuring the Moose and Tiny Tiger, here are 4 Non Blondes, covering a Carpenters tune, Bless the Beasts and Children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.