Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I managed to set off at about 9.30am - A38, A50, M1, M25, arriving in Surrey at my hotel for the night by 1pm... which was amazing really because we were at a complete standstill three times on the motorways! Obviously I wasn't driving when I took this, and I was thankful I happened to be under a bridge, as the further south I went the hotter it got.

I didn't do my park and leave hotel homework very well, this hotel is a bit rundown... but my room is cool, clean and ensuite. My car keys haven't been asked for, so I'm not offering them, I'm parked in a perfectly sensible place and there's no need to move it.

After settling in I had a look on OS maps on my phone and spied a 2 mile circular route to stretch my legs. Except the public footpath, and there was a sign, came to an end at a security fence along the railway, where I had assumed there'd be a tunnel.

It wasn't a very good idea anyway, and it would probably have been more sensible to turn back as soon as I saw the three men, immigrants springs to mind but I could be wrong, chatting under trees by abandoned, derelict buildings. I think they were living there. I put my best "I'm not a victim" persona on and walked past them, but it really was a stupid thing to do as I'd got phone, money and passport on me as I hadn't wanted to leave them in the hotel!!! And then of course the path finished and I had to retrace my steps. What made it really risky though is that the area was wooded and secluded and there was no liklihood of a dog walker passing by. I feel very stupid, so why the hell am I telling everyone!

I got back, made a cuppa and put the TV on. I've booked a taxi for the morning and I'm going nowhere else until 5.30am tomorrow!

Extra: I really hope that hotel staff aren't living in the two sheds in the garden....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.