Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Goodbye Jenny

The main focus of today has been the funeral of a member of our congregation . Another former teacher although 10 years older than me, she didn't suffer fools gladly, we got on well. We used to man the bric a brac stall together and would surreptitiously weed out the rubbish which others considered worthy of donating and displaying.
Last time I saw her, just a couple of weeks before her death, I was singing behind her in church. She turned round and complimented me on my singing and on being able to hold the final note for longer than her.
The funeral was very well attended with people standing in the aisles. There's not much you can do when you only have a small church. Colin reckons we had seats for 120, there must have been over 150 there, plus a school choir from the school she had been depute head at.
I did think it very impressive to have the group of 20 children aged between 10 and 12 at the funeral. Many of them would not have experienced such a thing before, I presume they had the choice. Well done to them.
The funeral was as she'd planned it in the few days she had after her heart attack. I think she'd have been pleased.
My blip is from the Clubhouse at Bruntsfield Golf Club, where we meet afterwards to share memories, to raise a glass and to enjoy some delicious sandwiches. What a stunning view down to the Forth and across to Fife, even on a dull day like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.