john39

By john39

Patterdale

We drove up to the Lake District today to attend "a gathering of friends," which followed the funeral service of perhaps my closest friend over the past 35 years. I estimate there were 130 people there, and a lot of reminiscences' were exchanged.
Pete had achieved a lot in his very full life, a member of Patterdale Mountain Rescue Team for 35 years, worked for the Outward Bound as an instructor, plus many other duties.
I met Pete at Glenmore Lodge in Aviemore, on a Cross Country Ski course, we got on well and our friendship carried on from there.
We did all manner of activities over years, the highlight for me was 4 days snow -holing and Ski touring on The Cairngorm Plateau in Mid Winter.
I was proud to be a small part of the support team running sections of the Bob Graham Round when Pete completed it.
That is a very small part of my friendship with Pete, Joan, and their family. 
R I P.  Pete.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.