Chris_P

By Chris_P

‘My New Ears’

Hearing aids aren’t like glasses that can give you back 20:20 vision. They're more like crutches - that enable you to move about but will never restore your ability to run and jump! 

So, while you never get to hear as well as someone with totally normal hearing does, they do help you to carry on conversations both one-on-one and in more complex situations such as groups and -incidentally - hear the birds sing again! Depending on the extent of your hearing loss, however, parties and crowded pubs and restaurants will continue to remain, for many, quite a challenge! 

My new hearing aids are amongst the latest top-of-the-range ones; they do better than most and can stream sound both from my phone and other sources such as TV. 

But even the best hearing aids are only as good as the person who programmes them for you, and, after some rather disappointing experiences, I have found a trained, skilled audiologist (rather than a ‘hearing aid dispenser’) to do this. 

Today, I had my first fitting with him, with some fine tuning - based on how I’ve got on with them and my comments - in a couple of weeks. 

I can already see how he’s picked up on some of my issues, and he’s willing to take the time to improve my hearing as much as possible.

So today was an encouraging day, and I am hopeful. 

But only time will tell!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.