Murphy's Lore

By stevemurphy

Flash !! ...

... Outside - during the day - in bright sunlight !?!? Who'd have thought it ?!

My ex boss and now pro photographer Michael Willems works out of Toronto - his latest book on creative flash techniques is available here Michael's Flash Manual - he teaches photographic workshops, has won awards for photojournalism and is currently doing a series on his muse Kim here

In other news - I spoke with skateboarder Matt (18) who was 'boarding in the background of this photo - he's from a neighbouring area to LU4 - we got talking about Lewsey Farm (LU4) - Matt's mantra about Lewsey Farm is snitches get stitches and get thrown in ditches which is in line with the current 6 o'clock news theory - many stabbings and shootings resulting in numerous deaths in and around LU4 since January this year. Rivel gangs from Marsh Farm and Lewsey Farm have been having a turf war ...

I'm hoping to meet up with Matt again later this week to do a piece for my blog - Bringing Words To Life - I'll keep you posted

This shot was taken with my Nikon D70s, Nikkor 28mm MF f2.8 AIs lens with a cheap secondhand speedlight attached to the camera's hotshoe. Just noticed - looks like I need to think about shutter speed a bit more 1/800" is probably not optimum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.