On Some Days

By V1k1

The Parting Glass . . . Traditional Scottish Song

. . . Fill to me the parting glass
And gather as the evening falls and gently rise and softly call goodnight and joy be to you all, goodnight and joy be to you all . . . 


This was the song that ended Fred's Memorial Service today.  It was also played at my mothers and sisters funerals.  I took this as an emergency blip but now I think about it there is a connection to Fred.  He flew gliders and Mt Arthur was the  first mountain he scaled.  He went on to climb a lot of the peaks in the South Island.  This is looking to the Western Ranges where Mt Arthur is and Fred could tell me about the clouds and what they mean.  It is the same view Fred had from his house.  There was a good turnout at the Memorial.   Fred was an electrical engineer during the war and the chaps from the R.S.A wore their medals.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.